39 Comments

This is a hard one, Matt! When I lived in the city I'd go by myself to the movies in the afternoon. And often, go back to see the same movie multiple times. I miss that.

Hmm...as a child, the book "Little Women."

More recent is one that I've tried desperately to find/to buy: "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society." It's only on Netflix. The movie. I never read the book. Maybe I should. Such a sweet story for writers and readers alike.

Expand full comment
author

This conversation is awesome, and I've now got long list of more stuff to check out.

As I was reading through, another book popped into my head: The Alchemist. The first time I read it, I was truly transported into that magical, desert landscape. I never wanted to leave. I did read the book a second time, later one, but the effect wasn't as intense. Funny how some artistic experiences only seem to carry one payload of emotion -- or maybe its us: having already had that part of our brain/emotions "lit up," it stays on and so the effect is different.

Expand full comment

Omg...To Kill a Mockingbird...movie AND book.

I was an impressionable kid when I first watched it and identified so much with the children. The social injustices portrayed in the story formed the beliefs and worldview that I still have today. The fact that some people want to ban this book tells us how important it is to our culture and history.

Expand full comment

Beaches - profoundly moving movie on live and friendship!❤️

Expand full comment

The English Patient. Honestly, both the book and the movie are just amazing, though different from each other.

I do believe it is the perfect adaptation to a perfect novel, in the fact that it does not attempt to tell the novel page by page, which is nearly impossible to do.

Expand full comment

Movie: Fight Club

Book: Zen in the art of archery.

P.s.: Why that book? Since it reminds me that, in my life path, "I need to wait to learn properly" ;)

https://livmkk.substack.com/p/learning-means-becoming-worse

Expand full comment
Jan 10, 2023Liked by Matt Zamudio

One book would be "a thousand splendid suns" by Khalid Hosseini. I love it so much that after finishing it i immediately started to reread it again. if you haven't read it yet please do, its a whole experience.

Expand full comment

The Denzel Washington movie, Fallen. I saw it in college at that movie theaters, back when you’d just show up and see whatever was playing. I had no idea what it was about. And it terrified me! But also, introduced me to the majesty of The Rolling Stones.

Expand full comment

I’m currently rereading Crime and Punishment. Before this I read Dost’s prison memoir, Notes of a Dead House. No movies lately but my girlfriend got me to finally watch Black Mirror. Not bad, I must admit. Terrifyingly believable.

Michael Mohr

‘Sincere American Writing’

https://michaelmohr.substack.com/

Expand full comment

The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen was the first chapter book I ever read in elementary school. I choose that one because it was my first, and that was so fulfilling for me. I remember thinking I didn’t want to read any more books because, how could anything be as good as that one?🤣 I still have that reaction to every book I read LOL.

Expand full comment
Jan 9, 2023Liked by Matt Zamudio

Great question! Probably an Agatha Christie mystery because once you know the ending, the book/movie is forever changed.

Expand full comment

The Far Pavilions by M.M. Kaye. I was 19 the first time I read it. Unforgettable.

Expand full comment

Stieg Larsson's The Millennium Trilogy in one sitting. I was engrossed with the books the first time I read them and to date will insist they're the most entertaining fiction I've ever read. When I finished the trilogy was the first and only time in my life I felt the French word "désœuvré" literally.

Expand full comment
Jan 12, 2023Liked by Matt Zamudio

Les Miserables

Expand full comment

Gone Girl. It's not my #1 book or movie even in its subgenre, but boy was that a fun twist. I would absolutely love to relive that surprise.

Expand full comment
Jan 11, 2023Liked by Matt Zamudio

Great question Matt. As I've gotten older I find it harder and harder to re-envision those states of openness that I once inhabited. I do remember a book that impacted me extraordinarily though in my college years. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenece. The psychological, spiritual, philosophical journey that Pirsig took us on was unparalleled in my experience up to that point. The ramifications of that book stayed with me for years. It is one of the very few books that I was compelled to reread. In more recent times, maybe 15 years ago, Murakami's Wind-up Bird Chronicle was similarly impactful. But . . . which book (or movie) would I LIKE to reexperience with a "beginner's" mind?? That will require some additional ruminations. I'll have to get back to you Matt.

Expand full comment

2001 A Space Oddysey "Open the podbay door Hal." With so much going on with AI these days, this is almost prophetic, amazing given when it was written!

Expand full comment

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë is my go to book and the movie was fine too. Another one is Madam Bovary by Gustav Flaubert but I have yet to watch the movie.

When a movie comes out my first impression is of loss of my imaginary world of the book and it is mostly ruined.

Expand full comment